Go Back   Harley-Davidson Forum > Questions & Answers > Fuel Injection

Notices

Fuel Injection Questions Concerning Fuel Injection Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

How can you tell if a ecm has a stage I download in it ?
  #1  
Old 11-20-2007, 09:00 PM
crockett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default How can you tell if a ecm has a stage I download in it ?

Hello Mike
I have a friend that purchased a 2002 fatboy with screamin eagle slipons on it.
Is there any way you can tell if the ecm has a download in it other than using a scanalyzer ?
BTW, It does not have a high flow air filter on it.
Is it possible that a dealer could have put a stage 1 download in it ?
Reply With Quote

RE: How can you tell if a ecm has a stage I download in it ?
  #2  
Old 11-26-2007, 09:00 PM
Mike's Avatar
Mike Mike is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,506
Default RE: How can you tell if a ecm has a stage I download in it ?

If you or a friend has SE Race Tuner, it can be hooked up to any bike in data mode and an I.D. can be made. You can not make tuning changes but monitor and I.D. will work on any bike regardless of which bike the ALDL is married to. Otherwise, Scantool or Digital Tech.
__________________
Mike Stegmann
Performance Consultant
Team Latus Motors Harley-Davidson

Checkout our huge inventory of Harley-Davidson Parts, Clothing and accessories.
http://www.latus-harley-davidson.com...-Parts-22.html
Reply With Quote

RE: How can you tell if a ecm has a stage I download in it ?
  #3  
Old 11-28-2007, 09:00 PM
crockett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: How can you tell if a ecm has a stage I download in it ?

I do have a race tuner that has not been married to a ecm yet.
I purchased it to put on my softail but i am more familiar with the PCIIIr that i have on it presently.
Could i use this tuner to read my friends bike with out it marrying to his ecm?
At what point does a new race tuner actually do the marrying ?
When i do read the ID on the ecm, what could i expect for a stock ecm ID compared to one that has had a download added ?
Thanks for your reply.
Reply With Quote

RE: How can you tell if a ecm has a stage I download in it ?
  #4  
Old 11-28-2007, 09:00 PM
Mike's Avatar
Mike Mike is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,506
Default RE: How can you tell if a ecm has a stage I download in it ?

In data mode you can without marrying. It marries the first time a calibration is programed to the ECM.

H-D has a serch engine to identify calibrations. Once you have the ID number, we can look it up on the search and get a description.
__________________
Mike Stegmann
Performance Consultant
Team Latus Motors Harley-Davidson

Checkout our huge inventory of Harley-Davidson Parts, Clothing and accessories.
http://www.latus-harley-davidson.com...-Parts-22.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power commander or stage 2 download njatc12345 Dyno Tuning 5 02-15-2008 09:00 PM
08 103 stage 2 flhmv Fuel Injection 8 01-07-2008 09:00 PM
NEED DOWNLOAD for my 05 Fatboy Ed45 Performance 1 10-15-2007 09:00 PM
stage 1 07 FLHX General Questions 2 08-13-2007 09:00 PM
ECM Reflash download question Grudge Fuel Injection 2 03-25-2007 09:00 PM



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:27 AM.

Copyright © 2008-2009 Harley-Davidson of Portland